Skip to content

Chipotle Pumpkin Soup

November 9, 2010

Remember all the pumpkins I grew in my front yard?  It’s a good thing pumpkins have a long shelf life, because I keep finding new gourds in my front yard.  I thought they would have stopped producing by now, but with our weird weather they haven’t gotten the message.

I was craving pumpkin soup this afternoon, so I decided to roast up one of the pumpkins and make some.  In my usual style, I didn’t check to see if I had any of the ingredients for soup until after I had the pumpkin roasting in the oven.  I remembered seeing a recipe for a chipotle pumpkin soup on Simply Recipes last week, so I pulled it up and edited based on what I had in the house.

It was really, really good.  Spicy, but good.  My face was red from the peppers (or maybe it was the heat of the oven).  The smoky flavor of the chipotle peppers went well with the sweetness of pumpkin.  Highly recommended!

Chipotle Pumpkin Soup
adapted from Simply Recipes

1/2 a large pumpkin, roasted and skin removed (my pumpkin was huge so you may need to add more).
2T olive oil
2 large onions
1T chopped garlic
2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
1 cup roasted bell peppers
2tsp salt
2tsp cumin
1 jar canned tomatoes in water
3 cups water/broth (add more or less to thicken/thin)

1)  Preheat oven to 400.  Add small amount of water to baking dish.  Cut pumpkin into large chunks and place in baking dish.  Cover with foil and bake for about 30 minutes or until soft.
2) While pumpkin is in the oven, add olive oil to soup pot. Add chopped onions and cook until slightly softened. Add garlic, chipotle and bell peppers, salt, and cumin. Cook for another 3-5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
3) Add tomatoes and either water or broth. I didn’t have broth so I added extra veggies, like the tomatoes, but if you did you could probably skip several of the last few steps (or just follow the original recipe).
4) Simmer at medium-low heat until pumpkin is cooked. Once pumpkin is cooked, remove from oven and add to soup. Simmer for another 5 minutes.
5) Remove soup from heat, and run through blender until desire consistency is reached. I put half in my blender, made it very smooth, dumped it back in the pot with the unblended soup, and then put half of the pot back into the blender. I then poured that back into the pot. My soup still had a few chunks of onion and pepper in it, but that’s how I like it.

I garnished with yogurt mixed with adobo sauce and a sprinkle of Tajin (chili lime “sprinkles”).

Makes 4-5 servings.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. hanna permalink
    November 9, 2010 6:55 am

    MMmm This looks so good!

  2. November 9, 2010 11:23 am

    Yum! I just made pumpkin leek soup the other day, but adding peppers sounds delicious!

  3. November 9, 2010 12:24 pm

    this sounds sooo good. also — congrats on the half-marathon!

  4. November 11, 2010 2:18 am

    Okay, random comment on this post, but I just wanted to say I was so excited to see your presence on my blog today! I’m convinced we would be good friends if we lived in the same neighborhood, so I’m so glad we’re still in touch! I hope all is well…

    • inoakpark permalink*
      November 11, 2010 6:41 am

      I agree! And I do read your blog daily. I will try and leave more comments…

  5. November 16, 2010 2:29 am

    i love spicy pumpkin soup! when i roasted my own pumpkin, though, i found that the flesh was really watery. that was no good because i was making ice cream and it made it icy. it’s a way better idea to use it in soup because the excess water doesn’t hurt anything.

    i have a pumpkin post coming up on my blog soon. you’ll have to check it out if you still have extra pumpkins sprouting up!

Leave a Reply

