Skip to content

Thanksgiving recap

November 28, 2010

We went up to my parents house for Thanksgiving.  My grandma, a few of my cousins, and my uncle also made the trip.  I don’t get to see my dad’s mom very often, so it’s always a nice treat.  Although P and I both realized on our drive home that we’d forgotten to say bye to her (she was in the shower when we left) and felt super super crappy.  Fail.

Anyway, here’s what we ate:

My sister Ellie made stuffed mushrooms for an appetizer.  They were really yummy.  We also ate my favorite gluten-free crackers from TJ’s.  My dad had ACL surgery on Wednesday and we were taking turns bringing him drinks, appetizers, etc to get “points.”  I plan to cash mine in for a pony.

On the menu:

  • Brined turkey (brined in what, I’m not sure)
  • Rolls from Homecraft bread (a small bakery in Redding)
  • Brussel sprouts with bacon
  • Stuffing with chicken chorizo sausage from Morants, pecans, apples, and dried cherries (based on this recipe).
  • Cranberry sauce with mandarin oranges, golden raisins, and fresh ginger
  • Arugula salad with persimmons
  • Purple potatoes (my uncle’s date thought we dyed them…)
  • Green beans with baked onions

A little bit of everything on my plate.  I pulled out a bottle of wine that I’d been saving for years.  When I worked in SF and had some disposable income, the doctor I worked for had a wine rep who would come to the office and help him select wine from local vineyards.  I got sucked in, and bought a couple of cases of wine that I would not be able to afford now, so I generally bring out a bottle or two for holidays.

After dinner we played Cranium and ate the pumpkin bread pudding I made (okay, but not as amazing as the internet raved about it…it could be because I made it gluten and dairy-free though) and the banana cream pie my sister made (yummy).

A better picture of the bread pudding with some cranberry sauce and maple-whiskey-coconut cream sauce on top.  A super healthy breakfast!  I have walked/run over 10 miles in the last two days though, so I don’t feel too horrible about my massive food consumption.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 7:23 am

    Sounds like a wonderful Thanksgiving. I’m especially jealous of the brussel sprouts. No, really. I am. I need to hunt some down and prepare them with bacon. Let us know how the pony acquisition goes.

  2. hanna permalink
    November 28, 2010 6:19 pm

    I thought the bread pudding was really good!

  3. November 28, 2010 9:00 pm

    I love purple potatoes! And, um maple whiskey coconut cream sauce sounds amazing. Is there a recipe out there?

  4. Dad permalink
    November 29, 2010 3:45 pm

    The bread pudding was way better than just okay. I had three helpings of it over two days.

  5. Madeleine permalink
    November 30, 2010 12:33 am

    I wish we’d stayed for dessert because it all looked great. I feel bad that Lily was a menace. She really isn’t like that usually…

    • inoakpark permalink*
      November 30, 2010 12:40 am

      Maddie-She wasn’t being a menace! I was in a HORRIBLE mood on Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

