Skip to content

Turkey risotto

November 30, 2010

I sometimes forget how easy and delicious risotto is.  When Elise at Simple Recipes posted a recipe for turkey risotto, I had almost all the ingredients so I decided to give it a try.

Stirring in the goat cheese

I used turkey stock from Thanksgiving that my mom had almost convinced me to throw out, and didn’t die or have horrible stomach problems, despite that it had been left sitting in the pot overnight without refrigeration.  I did find that I needed much more liquid to finish cooking my risotto than the recipe called for, so I threw in some white wine and a bit of chicken stock.  I also added some leftover turkey to the risotto near the end of cooking.

I didn’t add much dairy (just the bit of goat cheese) and it was super creamy and kind of woodsy tasting with the mushrooms and turkey.  I love this recipe and I have a feeling that risotto is going to be my new winter comfort food.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 2:35 pm

    Risotto is the ultimate comfort food. Did you use our local short grain rice. It’s great for risotto.

    • inoakpark permalink*
      December 1, 2010 2:08 am

      I didn’t realize short grain rice would work. Thanks for the tip! We always have local short grain rice around.

  2. hanna permalink
    December 1, 2010 6:42 am

    Mm this looks good!

Leave a Reply

