Skip to content

Winter crafting

December 4, 2010

While I know some of you knit year-round, I have a hard time finding the motivation to knit when it’s 110 degrees outside.  But I get really excited when it starts to feel like knitting weather.  Knitting mean cooping up inside drinking tea and actually getting to wear my hand knits after I’m done.  Tonight I’m finishing up my slouch hat.  I usually knit myself one new hat each year before I get started on holiday knitting.  This year I’m making a slouch hat pattern found on Ravelry.  I was given a bunch of vintage yarn by my superior when her mother passed away last year.  Her mom brought with her when she emigrated from Columbia many, many years ago and a lot of it is super soft Peruvian alpaca.  I feel like I should knit something more special out of it, but that’s not really my style.

Also, P and I are going to a birthday being held at a very nice local restaurant on Sunday night (here, if you are curious).  They are renting out the area of the restaurant used for wedding receptions and events.  Most of the folks there will be older and most have $$$, but they are generally reasonably casual people.  My question for you is how dressy do I dress?  And should P wear a tie?  I’m terrible at determining how casual or not casual things are.  P and I have literally driven past events before, determined how people were dressed, and driven home to put on appropriate attire.  I’m not even kidding.  We are crazy (and also have limited clothing options due to $$$).  Luckily I have friends in similar sizes so I was able to borrow a couple of cute dresses to choose from, but now I’m not sure what direction to go in.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 2:58 pm

    Re: what to wear – Older folks with $$$ will appreciate it if you dress a little less casual and if P wears the tie they will appreciate that too – but you should definitely wear something that makes “you” feel good about yourselves. Enjoy the evening the food should be fabulous.

  2. December 4, 2010 3:59 pm

    I hate not knowing what to expect either! Usually I’m overdressed lol
    But I agree with the first comment. Ties area always great, and he doesn’t need a jacket! That’s always dressy enough if the event is not formal. And a dress with hair up and a few accessories (earrings or necklace) is all you really need either. Have fun!

  3. hanna permalink
    December 4, 2010 10:27 pm

    I’m not sure, but I think I’d rather be overdressed than not dressy enough.

  4. charity permalink
    December 4, 2010 11:53 pm

    Don’t forget some of us will have run in a marathon relay! Don’t sweat the dress bit. You always look terrific.

    • inoakpark permalink*
      December 5, 2010 1:10 am

      Charity – Thanks! I always have the hardest time deciding what to wear to things, but I know you guys don’t really care 🙂 It’s one of my crazy things!

Leave a Reply

