Skip to content

No New Mexico

December 21, 2010

Paul and I were suppose to be on the road to New Mexico today to visit his family at their new vacation house in Silver City, but instead we’re staying home for Christmas.  Too much going on to make a two day drive (each way).  I’m happy to be with my family for Christmas, but bummed out about missing an opportunity to visit the southwest (my favorite of the wests).  In honor of the fallen NM trip, I’m posting a few pictures of the state taken last year when we traveled through on our way back from Texas.

Paul’s behind at White Sands.  Both are awesome.

The beautiful forest outside of Santa Fe.  I wasn’t actually as fond of Santa Fe as I thought I was going to be, but the scenery was gorgeous.  Santa Fe also had the best farmers market I’ve ever been to.  It beats San Francisco farmers markets, and that’s saying a lot.  I think it had something to do with the selection of products though.  We get amazing produce in California, but I’ll take NM chilis over California tomatoes any day.

This last picture I took by the side of the road while driving through NM.  Ahhhh…I love wide open spaces.  I was thinking about it awhile ago, and I realized that open spaces like those in the southwest make me feel so much more relaxed.  I’m not a paranoid person, but there is something about being able to see for miles in any direction that I find comforting.

Ah well.  They bought the house so it’s not like there won’t be another chance to go.  We’re already thinking a spring trip is probably in the works.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 5:50 am

    Love the pictures! Sorry you couldn’t go over the holidays. I think your explanation of wide open spaces is inspired.

  2. melissa Chordas permalink
    December 21, 2010 5:09 pm

    if you’d like company on a roadtrip in the spring- i’m always up for an adventure🙂

    • inoakpark permalink*
      December 21, 2010 7:41 pm

      Melissa- that would be fun. I’ll let you know when we are going…sometime in march I think.

  3. Dad permalink
    December 25, 2010 3:52 pm

    > I’m not a paranoid person, but there is something about being able to see for miles in any direction that I find comforting.

    That’s your inner evolved-on-the-African-savannah hominid talking to you.

Leave a Reply

