Skip to content

Happy Post-Christmas

December 27, 2010

We had a pretty quiet Christmas yesterday.  Since we couldn’t go to New Mexico, we went up to my parents house a few days ago to get away from home for a bit.  I have a nasty cough from my cold, so we basically stuck around the house and did some cooking, present wrapping, and Balderdash playing.  Balderdash got mixed reviews from my family, but it’s probably my favorite board game at the moment (and we’ve been playing a lot of board games lately).  For those of you who haven’t played, it’s basically a game where you get a word or concept that nobody knows, everyone makes up a definition, and then you guess which is correct (with the correct definition mixed in).  I think we have a newer version, because it has different categories.  Instead of just words, there are also people, acronyms, and movies.    It gets really hilarious if you are playing in the right company.

And now some food pictures.  I don’t know what has been up with my photo skills lately.   I need to break out my camera manual and figure out what I’m doing so I can stop taking dark, yellow, washed out pictures.

Thursday night P and I made chipotle pumpkin soup (with our yard pumpkins), spinach and beet salad, and ate it with fresh bread made by our neighbor.  The bread is amazing.  I think she puts lemon in it, but whatever she does it’s really good.

Hazel gets totally worn out at my parent’s house now that they have a dog she can play with.  Further proof that a second dog would probably be a good idea for us (even though it’s totally not in the cards right now).  Aren’t the dogs cute all curled up together on the couch?

Christmas Eve we always do a crab dinner, though we were discussing over dinner that we aren’t really sure when we started with it as it’s not something we always did.  Judging from the lines at all the local crab vendors it’s a pretty common tradition.  My parents drove all over town looking for crab before they sent P and me to the fish market (where we usually go, but always really busy and more expensive).

Probably the highlight of Christmas was on Christmas Eve.  After dinner my sister’s boyfriend kept hearing a weird animal noise coming from outside.  He walked out the garage door and this was staring at him from the bushes right outside the door.

It’s a little hard to tell from the picture, but it’s a ringtail cat.  We’ve never seen one at my parent’s house before so it was pretty crazy.  Apparently if you feed them they easily become tame and are actually really affectionate, but this one seemed pretty scared and disappeared after we started taking flash photos.  They are also called miners cats because miners used to tame them and keep them as micers.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    December 28, 2010 9:29 am

    Hi Katie,

    Interesting holiday, eh? Sorry about your cold. My family does crab on Christmas Eve too…(although it’s cioppino). I had to make a crab bisque as well because we have a couple of tomato-haters in our midst.

    Very interesting @ the ringtail. If you’ve never done it, you should go on a docent led hike up the Sutter Buttes this spring. They have the highest density of ringtail cats anywhere in the wild. Read about it here: http://www.middlemountain.org/body/buttes/ringtails.html.

    I hope your good health returns and you have a great new year.

    Tom

Leave a Reply

