Skip to content

A year in review

January 1, 2011

I’m not going to lie, 2010 was not very kind to me.  I think I made the best of things given some of the crazy situations I was put in (most too personal to blog about here), but I’m really hoping that 2011 is a happier, more hopeful kind of year.

With that, here are some of the better moments of the last year.

January

In January I took wedding photos with Carina.  The best part about it was that we became much closer friends though the process.  Now she’s getting married and I cannot wait.  She’s going to have the best farm wedding ever.

February

In  February P and I went on a mini-vacation to Big Sur.  I’d never really been before, and even though it rained most of the time we were there, it was still a great trip.

March

In March our chickens started laying an enormous amount of eggs.  From March through the end of the summer we were getting an average of six eggs a day from five hens!

April

In April a few of our friends had the idea to host a beer Olympics–blind tasting, beer pong, das chug, etc.  We had teams (P and I were the Lagers) and there were beer prizes at the end.  P and I won a can of Fosters (which is to say that we didn’t do very well!).

May

For my birthday in May my parents helped P and I fix up our backyard.  What was previously only dirt and weeds actually looks pretty good now.  And despite Hazel’s best efforts to destroy it, it’s actually stayed relatively put together.

June

I did some serious World Cup watching in June.  I watched at the gym, with friends in coffee shops for early morning games, and at a bar in Mendocino while we were camping there.

July

In July we went down to San Diego with my family.  Southern CA had a particularly cold summer, but we still managed to spend time at the beach.

August

August was a very food focused month.  Our front yard garden was going crazy, the new farmers market in our neighborhood was going strong, and our crop swap had a garden tour that we were a part of.

September

In September I had surgery (on our second wedding anniversary).  I was also deep in school and applying for nursing school.  It was a bit of a crazy month.  This picture was taken at a party we went to a few days before my surgery.


October

In October we went to Hardly Strictly Bluegrass festival in San Francisco with my family.  I love it because I always run into several friends who I haven’t seen in ages.  I also took engagement photos for my friends who will be getting married this year and we did some minor home improvements like adding lights to our kitchen and curtains in our living room.

November

In November P, my dad, and I ran a half marathon in San Francisco in the pouring rain.  We are hardcore.  Especially my dad who was running on one ACL.

December

December had ups and downs.  Ups include x-country skiing, Christmas, and finding out I have interviews for nursing school.

So there you have it.  2010, I’m not so sad to see you gone.  Here’s to making 2011 a bigger, better year!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 3:37 pm

    You are hardcore! It looks like you accomplished a lot last year… and you always make living closer to family so appealing with all the trips and fun things you do together. I would love to live closer to ours. Wishing you a prosperous and healthy new year.🙂

  2. Dad permalink
    January 2, 2011 7:31 pm

    I love this look back at 2010 — you and Paul have a rich and inspiring life. Happy happy happy to be your proud Dad and part of it.

Leave a Reply

