Skip to content

Portland

January 25, 2011

I got back from Portland, Oregon yesterday and I have to say that the fantasies I’ve had about moving there over the last ten years or so weren’t for nothing.  It’s a really nice city–super clean, friendly, great food, walkable/bikeable, pretty.  I’ve only been once before and I had the flu that time, so it was fun getting to do a bit of exploring in a new place.  My parents and one of my sisters went up with me (P had an event in Sacramento on Thursday so he got to stay home).

Thursday night and Friday afternoon I had meetings so I ditched my family and they did their own thing around the Hotel Monaco.  If you need a place to stay in Portland, you really can’t go wrong with Monaco.  The rooms were huge, reasonably priced, great amenities, nice staff, dog-friendly, etc.

My parents brought their shedding machine yellow lab with them, so she got her name on the dog board in the lobby.

We were with Yampa...

Thursday night we had dinner at Pok Pok, a Thai restaurant that serves food entirely different than any Thai food I’ve had.  In particular I loved the boar collar dish, the pork belly curry, and the game bird salad.  Some of the dishes packed a pretty hefty amount of spice and the menu is very meat heavy, but I’d seriously eat here all the time if I lived in Portland.

Friday afternoon some of my friends were in town (converging from Mount Hood, LA, and SF).  My sister and I met up with them for happy hour drinks and apps at The Nines.

I wouldn’t normally think to go to a hotel bar, but it was actually pretty rad, had good food and drinks, and had an amazing view.  We’d gone for their rooftop bar, but it wasn’t open when we arrived so we started out with a glass of wine at Urban Farmer, the other restaurant in the Nines.  Urban Farmer has several different rooms, but we ended up in a billiards and library room with really comfortable leather couches and a billiards table that looked like it doesn’t get used very often.  Then we headed up to Departure (the rooftop club) to check out the sunset.

I would have loved to spend more time with my friends, but they were all headed up the hill to Mount Hood, so we parted ways and sister and I went out to dinner with my parents and took in a tiny bit of Powell’s Books and the Pearl District.

My dad had to work on Saturday, so my mom, sister, and I spent some time driving and walking around different neighborhoods.  I feel like I spent the entire day eating random bits of food–a beer here, a cookie there, etc, etc.  Lots of eating to do in Portland!

Has anyone watched Portlandia yet?  I watched it last week on Hulu, but it aired while we were in town and the waitress at breakfast on Saturday morning was making fun of my dietary restriction questions by quoting from the show.  The scene she was referring to is pretty hilarious if you haven’t seen the show…

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    January 26, 2011 12:35 am

    So glad you went to Pok Pok…It’s like nothing else I’ve been to. Is the Hotel Monaco a Joie de Vivre property? The room looks just like one I stayed in at The Citizen.

    • inoakpark permalink*
      January 26, 2011 12:39 am

      Hummm…I’m pretty sure its a kimpton group hotel. Highly recommended though!
      And thanks for the heads up about pok pok. It was great!

  2. February 20, 2011 10:17 pm

    Oh my god. hahaha. I need to see more of Portlandia!

Leave a Reply

