Skip to content

Two months

January 30, 2011

So my interviews are done and now I have a long two month wait until I find out if anyone wants me.*  I have to say that the interviewing process was very informative and I’m now very certain about which programs I’d be thrilled to be at, and which ones I’m less excited about.  I’ll just say that those of you who’d like us to stay relatively local are in luck.

So aside from going over the interview questions in my head repeatedly, obsessing about how I could have answered questions in a less nervous and rambling way, I need to find some other way to fill the time until late March/early April.  Help!

So far on my list:

– Obtain Rosetta Stone software from my mom and improve my Spanish.  At one of the schools there might be an opportunity for me to work in the clinic/hospital of my dreams, but I would need to speak Spanish better than my current “birth Spanish.”

– Plan some sort of fun weekend away.  It might be too cold for camping in between now and April, but maybe not?

– Sleep a lot.  Sleep = not thinking about school.  Plus if I get into school I won’t sleep for about three years, so I should probably save up.

– Get to a point where I can run a half marathon without stopping (I’m loosely following this).

Any other suggestions?

Hoping that I will someday have a use for my pile o' scrubs.

*I’m not being down on myself, but some of the schools had over 30 rad, qualified, super-nice people interviewing for 8-10 spots.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. melissa Chordas permalink
    January 30, 2011 6:07 pm

    You did so well, I’m sure. I super happy it will be more local. YAY
    camping at the indians (Los Padres National Forest)…depends on the weather. But we are thinking…March 24-27 or April 7-10 or April 21-24….plan on it!

    • inoakpark permalink*
      January 31, 2011 2:23 am

      I hope it’s either the March or end of April date! P is at a conference April 7-10!

  2. February 1, 2011 12:44 am

    Read for pleasure!

    Recommended:

    My current literary crush Joshua Ferris “Then We Came To The End” and “The Unnamed”
    Larry McMurty “Lonesome Dove” (really long, fun, and satisfying)
    Steve Martin “Born Standing Up” (I’ve been on a celebrity memoir kick)
    And, don’t hate me, The Hunger Games. You’ll need to dedicate a few days to reading the trilogy back to back.

    And come visit : )

    • inoakpark permalink*
      February 3, 2011 12:35 am

      Morgan-Paul really wants to go visit his friend Mike in LA so we are trying to figure out when we could do a SB/LA trip in the next few months. Do you have any dates that for sure wouldn’t work between now and May?

Leave a Reply

