Skip to content

Fantasy Vacation

February 3, 2011
tags:

Part of my technique for distraction has involved fantasizing about vacations that I can’t afford (and really don’t know when I’d have time to go on).

Some of them are more practical than others.  For example, taking Spanish classes in Mexico or Guatemala would be useful whether or not I get into nursing school this year.  In fact, if I don’t get into nursing school and have time to save up some money, I will very likely be heading somewhere Spanish-speaking to improve my Spanish before reapplying.

Random picture of my favorite cowboy boots (RIP) in Baja in 07.

A much bigger reach is India.  For whatever reason almost everyone I know wants to go to India right now.  My urge has been strongly influenced by Lily Stockman from bigBANG studio.  Her photos are absolutely gorgeous.  I have to say that I’m particularly drawn to her photos of food there.  I would probably come back with a suitcase full of spices.

Another reach would be a return trip to Argentina.  I know I’m boring, but I like return trips.  A bonus is that it would also be semi-practical since people speak Spanish and it would be fun to see Angela again.

If I went back to Argentina, I’d also want to spend a week or so in Chile just to mix things up.  I’m pretty sure I’d have a travel companion… Melissa-Do you see that giant bottle of beer?  I think it cost a buck.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. hanna permalink
    February 3, 2011 3:02 am

    I think those were my reasons for wanting to go to India, too.. Those photos are just making me want to go more!

    • inoakpark permalink*
      February 3, 2011 4:50 am

      Hanna-If I don’t get into school we should save up and go on vacation together.

  2. melissa Chordas permalink
    February 5, 2011 4:28 am

    Katie,
    India is also top of my list…and Chile and Guatamala…even mexico. I will go on any of these trips with you. Seriously, we should find a way to go. I REALLY want to go to spanish speaking country.

    • inoakpark permalink*
      February 5, 2011 8:07 pm

      Melissa-I just got a raise at work so I’m going to be banking that extra money. If I get into school we will need it for moving expenses, but if I don’t get in, I’m going to a Spanish speaking country for a month and you should totally go with me.

  3. melissa Chordas permalink
    February 5, 2011 4:37 am

    look at this website…we could do one/two week volunteer (it would look good for apps)…. http://www.ahnh.org/index.php?idioma=en&seccion=volunteer

    • inoakpark permalink*
      February 5, 2011 8:16 pm

      Paul lived in that town for a bit and he said he worries that we won’t like Guatamala. He also said that it’s fairly dangerous to travel around (though I’m not sure it’s more dangerous than Mexico). We should get more specifics from him.

  4. Jillian permalink
    February 6, 2011 5:51 am

    I fantasize about going abroad all the time, moving to foreign countries and buying really cool houses and properties. It’s an addiction for me watching house hunter’s abroad. I always find it fascinating what you can get in different countries with the same money in the states…

Leave a Reply

