Skip to content

Detox

February 21, 2011

To throw one more yucky thing onto my bummer of a week, the last few times I’ve gone running I’ve had horrible, have to stop running, cramps.  Debilitating cramping in my uterine area likely mean that my endometriosis is coming back after the surgery I had in September.  No bueno.  In an effort to slow the return, I’m going to do another elimination, detox diet.

This time I’m really going to focus on reducing sugar once and for all.  I’ve been tracking what I eat and every single day I’m way over the recommended daily intake of sugar.  It really shows too.  Someone on a listserve I’m on asked about yeast today and I have to say that I could have typed up an essay about the number of treatment options I know about and have tried.  Problem is that without cutting out sugar it’s only a temporary fix so bye, bye (most) sugar.

Like I’ve said before, I can’t be strict about the way I eat or I go sort of crazy, but I’m going to make an effort to follow a general plan.

Here’s what I’m thinking, based a little bit on this, this, and this:

Daily supplements: I take these multi’s (I’m aware they are a prenatal vitamin, but they are food based and organic), Trader Joe’s green calcium, and grapefruit seed extract (nasty, but antifungal).

Week 1: Veggies, quinoa, brown rice, oats, millet, coconut & olive oil, beans, yogurt, very limited fruit, eggs, protein shakes (protein powder, yogurt, flax seed, TJ’s grain milk, fruit/veggies)

Week 2: Add in fish and chicken

Week 3: Add in nuts, goat cheese, and other lean meats (beef, pork, etc)

Basically, I’m cutting out gluten, corn, sugar (besides limited fruit), alcohol, and soy (besides limited use of Braggs Amino Acids to replace soy sauce).

The most delicious venison sausage I ate for lunch today, before I decided to detox.

I can already tell you of a few days where exceptions are going to need to be made.  For example, next week is beer week in Sacramento and I’ve already promised P we’d go to a beer, chocolate, and sausage tasting at Pangaea 🙂 Exceptions keep me sane, so exceptions are good.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 8:28 am

    Oh no! I hope this isn’t the case. I can imaging how frustrating it must be to have to deal with this. Good luck, and I hope it all works out.

  2. Mom permalink
    February 22, 2011 2:46 am

    Ok, so dad is trying to get me to go with him to a marketing meeting in Sac on Thursday. If we came down Wednesday night would we maybe be there for beer week at Pangea? Or maybe for Todd Snider at Harlow’s? I’m just thinking out loud. Let me know.

    M

    • inoakpark permalink*
      February 22, 2011 2:55 am

      Mom-Beer week starts on Friday, but we’d go to Todd Snider.
      Katie

Leave a Reply

