Skip to content

Toying with my emotions

February 23, 2011

Today I received an acceptance letter to one of the four nursing programs I applied to.  I can’t help but be a little excited, it’s a great school (one of the “southern Ivy’s”).  They send you a bunch of stuff when you get into a program–lists of supplies needed, dates for orientation and class schedules, info about the ceremony they have the week class starts where they give you a stethoscope (the badge of the nurse).  Sighhhh.  It’s hard to not be excited.

But, seriously?  I can’t go to the school.  It’s expensive (double the cost of any of the other programs I applied to).  Since applying we’ve also realized it would be really unrealistic for P to move there and work in the particular area where the school is.  So I’m 98% sure it’s a no-go.

But it does make me realize how badly I do want to be in a program.  I’m just so *ready* to be in that space, it’s seriously almost impossible to think about doing the same old same old for another year or more.  As much as I love the folks I work with, I really want to be a nurse-midwife.  No offense coworkers!

Folsom Lake taken on Sunday. I want to go sit on a sailboat on the lake until application season is done.

Also!  Thank you so, so much for the donations I’ve received for Breathe California & Bay to Breakers!  If you’d like to donate, click here.  I will be donating $5 for every donation that’s made.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    February 23, 2011 6:52 am

    Vanderbilt?

  2. Morgan permalink
    February 23, 2011 6:08 pm

    Well congrats on getting in! And for knowing in your heart that you’re on the right path.

Leave a Reply

