Skip to content

Beer Week (Sours)

February 27, 2011

Last night P and I met our neighbors at Samuel Horne Tavern in Folsom for a beer week event that featured sours (my favorite category of beer).  So much for detoxing!

I tried 12 different beers, but here are some of my favorites of the night:

My absolute favorite was the Lost Abbey Red Poppy.  When I think sour, I typically think of this sort of red ale made with stone fruit.  This one had almost a chocolate cherry flavor.  SO good.

My second favorite was the New Belgium Le Terrior.  While I normally think New Belgium beers aren’t very special, this was very interesting.  It had the sour yeasts and the fruitiness of a sour, but they dry hop it so it also has a very distinct hoppiness.  I described it as a sour IPA.  Really good.

The Allagash Interlude, Anderson Valley Gatlin Damnosus, and the Bear Republic Anniversary ale are all worth seeking out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. hanna permalink
    February 27, 2011 9:10 pm

    yum!

  2. March 1, 2011 7:48 am

    I love the sours too, I’m sorry I missed it!

  3. March 10, 2011 10:12 pm

    i love sours, too! my favorite is russian river consecration. someday i want to brew my own beers. i want girly beers with notes like lavender and meyer lemon.

Leave a Reply

