Skip to content

Tom Kha Soup & Grapefruit Salad

March 11, 2011

I’ve been loving Thai food lately, but I feel like making it is always challenging in that key ingredients seem reasonably challenging to acquire (kaffir lime leaves, for one).  But Green Kitchen Stories posted about some amazing food they are eating in Thailand, and I got it into my head that I was going to make the entire meal she posted–Tom Kha Tofu and a Pomelo Salad.  Of course, I had to make some changes to the recipes because I am horrible at following cooking directions, but the meal was still one of my favorites that I’ve cooked in ages.

Tom Kha Soup with brown rice instead of tofu, grapefruit salad, and a bourbon citrus cocktail.  Yum.

The Asian supermarket near my house had cute little organic mushrooms so I threw some of those into the soup.

The salad was essentially grapefruit, sliced red onions, chopped kaffir lime leaves and lemongrass, and fresh ginger with a chili paste-grapefruit juice dressing (this pictures shows it pre-dressing).

The dregs of the soup I ate the next day.  So damn good.  I cannot adequately explain my love for lemongrass and kaffir lime.  Even though the ingredients in the soup were filling, the lemongrass-lime combo is so light and fresh tasting that I feel like I end up stuffing myself before I realize I’m full.  That’s not really a selling point if you are trying to eat like a healthy person, but I believe speaks to the deliciousness of the soup.

Make this!  It’s easy (aside from the ingredient finding) and really, really tasty.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 3:02 am

    Yum! I’ve loved Thai food ever since I lived there a decade ago. My husband and I went back a few years ago and took cooking lessons!

  2. Tom permalink
    March 12, 2011 6:42 pm

    Hey Katie,

    There is a cookbook in the works from Pok Pok. Until then, here is the recipe for their fish sauce wings: http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/ikes-vietnamese-fish-sauce-wings-cocktails-2008
    Probably not on your diet, but so, so good! Did you have them?

    • Elise permalink
      March 13, 2011 1:17 am

      I bought the ingredients to make fish sauce wings tomorrow night!

      • Tom permalink
        March 14, 2011 5:02 pm

        @Elise…How did they turn out?

    • Elise permalink
      March 15, 2011 2:13 am

      Tom, our local supermarket was out of chicken wings, so I substituted drumsticks. I was worried about the deep frying — I never deep fry anything — but I pulled it off with just a little blackening on some of the pieces. They were delicious. We also had a nice papaya salad with green beans, tomatoes, garlic, thai peppers, peanuts, lime, and fish sauce from the same Food and Wine issue. I’d encourage people to try the wings recipe — it’s not hard to pull off. I’m still not much of a fan of deep frying in my kitchen, though.

  3. March 13, 2011 6:51 pm

    K, where did you buy your kaffir leaves? The place I used to buy them no longer sells them and I’m looking for a new place to pick them up at. Thanks!

    • inoakpark permalink*
      March 13, 2011 6:57 pm

      I found them at SF Mart.

  4. March 14, 2011 8:06 pm

    Looks awesome! I love lemongrass too!

    You can also find Kaffir leaves at Kim’s Mart in Davis- a whole ziplock bag for under $5!

Trackbacks

  1. This Week’s Dish « yellowsquarelove

Leave a Reply

