Skip to content

Opening new doors…

March 23, 2011

Many of you are already in the know, but for those who aren’t (or suspected but weren’t sure), I was recently accepted to an accelerated RN to Master’s in Nurse-Midwifery program at UC San Francisco (one of the top nursing schools in the country!).  It was a bit of a secret while we were making sure that necessary parties knew what was up, but now everything seems to be a-okay so I’ve been given the go-ahead to blog about all the crazy changes that are going to be happening in the coming months.

For one, it means that starting in June we will be moving to San Francisco for at least one year.  I have very mixed feelings about this move.  I did the SF thing several years ago and it felt like a very, very closed chapter in my book.  It’s a lovely city with a ton going on, but I’m really more suited to the mellow pace of Sacramento.  There is a very good chance that I will be doing my midwifery clinicals here so everyone cross your fingers that the move will be a temporary thing!

That means that starting in May or June our house will need a tenant.  If you think you might want to be that person, let us know ASAP.  Rent will be very reasonable and will likely be pet friendly (or you can adopt our 3 hens as part of the deal).  There are so many amazing things going on in our neighborhood it’s going to be a huge bummer to be missing out–the farmer’s market, Old Soul, meeting our rad neighbors for drinks at our local bar or trading our neighbor for tamales or produce.  Sniff sniff.

All that being said, it’s pretty amazing to think that in 12 (or so) months I will be a nurse who can care for real, live patients.  And FINALLY, in three years, give our take, I will be a midwife with lots of fancy initials behind my name and fancy skills to go with them.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 5:29 am

    Congratulations, Katie! How exciting. I was going to move to LA and decided to stay here in Sacramento and grow my roots instead of moving off to the city. A friend forwarded me the opening for a position at Pesticide Watch – now it all comes together! I hope you have a better experience in SF this time.

    • inoakpark permalink*
      March 23, 2011 5:36 am

      Thanks! Paul is actually going to be keeping his job (just working out of his SF office). He’s just hiring another staff person here to help cover this part of the state!

      • March 23, 2011 10:27 pm

        That’s great! The next big question, are you going to keep the blog?

  2. Matt J. permalink
    March 23, 2011 5:49 am

    Congratulations! I’ll keep an ear out for potential tenants.

  3. March 23, 2011 9:45 am

    Katie that is so exciting! Congratulations! I’m sure that took a lot of planning, flexibility and decision making but how cool to be a CNM! Congrats again.

  4. annlili permalink
    March 23, 2011 5:05 pm

    Congrats! I’m SO proud of you! 🙂 And very excited that you will be moving here. Pete and I have a terribly neglected backyard; if you end up not getting a house with a backyard you are welcome to come and garden at our place. 😛

  5. Morgan permalink
    March 23, 2011 6:33 pm

    Yaaaay, that is so exciting!! Well earned!

  6. March 29, 2011 3:26 am

    Katie, this post gave me goosebumps! This is amazing news. I am so proud of you and your path. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

