Skip to content

A Jeff Bridges kind of night…

March 27, 2011
tags:

P and I have been on a movie watching kick recently.  In the past we’ve been those people who get a Netflix movie and have it for months (literally) before we send it back, unwatched.  But my current lack of studying in the evenings and on weekends opens up all sorts of movie watching free time so we’ve been filling it with some of the movies we’ve meant to watch over the last few years–Where the Wild Things Are (Got about 15 minutes in and got so bored we turned it off and watched the documentary, Ferrets: The Pursuit of Excellence), The Social Network (as good as everyone says it is), and most recently Crazy Heart.

First off, I really liked Crazy Heart.  It’s hard to go wrong when you take a great actor, stick him in a cowboy hat and denim, soak him in bourbon, and put him in New Mexico.  The movie could have had a shit plot and I’d probably have loved it.  It’s a good thing we have a southwest trip coming up or I’d be scrambling to put one together.

After we watched the movie I was looking around on Netflix and following a Jeff Bridges train, discovered a relic of my childhood that I’d entirely forgotten about.  Please, please tell me that somebody else remembers Shelley Duvall’s Faerie Tale Theatre.  Three Little Pigs, The Princess and the Pea…

Why are these not more popular?  Or maybe I’m not hip enough to know that they are?  Regardless, good directors directing good actors in ridiculous versions of fairy tales…If you have kids, I’d totally subject them to these.  It’s got to be better than Dora or whatever it is that kids are watching these days.  Many of them are on YT, or you can watch them streaming on Netflix.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 2:04 pm

    We were those people too! Maybe still are sometimes. I have Frost Nixon sitting by my tv for a few months now! But we did watch The Fighter last night.

    Loved Crazy Heart and Faerie Tale Theater! I was obsessed with Rumpelstiltskin!

  2. hanna permalink
    March 27, 2011 5:24 pm

    Where the Wild Things Are was so funny! There were a couple characters in it that I liked more than others… The main wild thing that was friends with Max was pretty boring.

    Social Network was good most of the way through but at the end it started to seem REALLY long.

    Crazy Heart was definitely good.

  3. Samantha Garcia permalink
    April 9, 2011 12:58 am

    To this day, I am still terrified of Jeff Goldblum because of how scary he was as the Big Bad Wolf in this one.

Leave a Reply

