Skip to content

Body Rock Hot Mess

March 29, 2011

You know a workout is tough when my arms are shaking trying to type this post!

I keep seeing BodyRock.tv pop up on blogs and I’ve been meaning to give it a try, but many of the workouts involve equipment I don’t have (pull-up bar, etc).  The basic idea is that Zuzana, the pretty Russian lady, posts workouts with a short instructional video.  It’s very self-paced but from what I’ve seen the instructions are clear and the workouts seem reasonably simple (not easy, but simple to follow along).  One of her recent workouts didn’t involve too much special equipment, and what it did require (a sandbag), I was able to sub with my hand weights.

I feel like I’m in pretty good shape right now, and in the 28 minutes it took me to finish the “hot mess” workout I was totally beat!

Highly recommended for a free, fun at home workout.  Since it doesn’t have music or any other instruction while you are doing the workout I was able to listen to my own Pandora mix which I prefer anyway.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 2:43 am

    Ahh, I was wondering if you had the sandbag and also whether I could substitute hand weights.
    Thanks for sharing this! I just let Jillian kick my butt for the first time in a long time today.

  2. Tom permalink
    April 1, 2011 6:17 am

    Ok…Katie….I need some details. My brother-in-law (whose a p90x guy) and myself have done a couple of Zuzana’s(thank you, by the way) workouts the last couple of days. Tonight we did the Hot Mess. I did rounds 1-5 in 26 min 8 sec. and rounds 5 and 4 in 12 min on the way back down before I couldn’t go any more. My brother-in-law gave up after 1-5.

    Now for the details (and reparation of my ego)–you posted that you did the Hot Mess in 28 min. Did you do the whole thing, or just 1-5. I’m in more than decent shape (swimming/running…not plyometrics) and couldn’t even finish it after 38 min. If you did do it all…you’re awesome. In Zuzana’s video, she did it all in @ 30 min.

    Also, what’s up with those hands-free “Get Ups”? Zuzana must be 4′ 10″ and a former gymnast.

    • inoakpark permalink*
      April 1, 2011 6:47 pm

      Tom-Hummmm…I timed myself at 14 minutes for each side but I didn’t realize she took 30 minutes. There is no way I finished faster than her, so I’m going to have to do it again to see what the hell I did wrong, because I was pretty sure I completed all the reps. I could barely move the following two days, so it definitely isn’t easy!

      I can do hands-free get ups 🙂 But I’m also 5’1″ so maybe it’s a shorty thing?

      • Tom permalink
        April 1, 2011 11:08 pm

        When I first read her writte n instructions I was a little confused. Round 1 is the 10 Get Ups, then round 2 is the 10 Get Ups again + 20 Backward Lunges. Round 3 (instructions say round 2 + 20 squats) I first thought it was 20 Lunges + the 20 squats, but it’s acutally all that + 10 get ups. So, by the 5th round you do all 5 exercises–then, back down. Rep-wise, it looks like this:
        10
        10+20
        10+20+20
        10+20+20+10
        10+20+20+10+40
        10+20+20+10+40
        10+20+20+10
        10+20+20
        10+20
        10
        Maybe you read it the way I did at first…if not, again, you’re awesome.

    • inoakpark permalink*
      April 1, 2011 11:21 pm

      I did do it the way you’ve listed it out, but it’s possible I missed a set or something like that. I did also use much less weight that she’s using because I only have hand weights (so I was using 2 8lb weights). I’m sure that made it easier…

Leave a Reply

