Skip to content

Meatloaf

April 6, 2011

I should be writing a workout post today, but I was at another birth last night and thinking about the gym makes me exhausted so instead you get meatloaf.  Yes, meatloaf.

If you told me five years ago that I’d be making meatloaf for dinner, I would have been grossed out.  Who the hell makes meatloaf anymore?  Plus it sort of looks like wet dog food, which is not exactly appetizing.

But, I had ground beef from Winterport Farms and a weird meatloaf craving so I dug around a few blogs that have reliably good classic food recipes (Pioneer Woman and Simply Recipes).  I took bits and pieces of each recipe, and it turned out seriously amazing–not too dry but not fatty tasting, good flavor especially from the glaze.  The only other place I usually eat this particular food is a local restaurant that coats theirs in bacon.  I am a huge bacon fan, so it’s hard to beat that, but both P and I agreed that this was better.

Here’s a general approximation of what I did.  This probably isn’t the most accurate recipe ever, but meatloaf is pretty forgiving so if you felt so inclined this would probably work just fine.

Mo Spicy BBQ Meatloaf

3 slices of bread (we used whole grain)
1/2 cup rice/hemp/cow/whatever milk
1 lb lean ground beef
1/4 lb spicy pork sausage
1/2 cup chopped veggies (I used green beans and corn)
1 Tbsp minced garlic
2 eggs
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

1/4 cup BBQ sauce (I like Annie’s Natural)
1 tsp Worscestershire sauce
1 Tbsp Mo Spicy Da Kine Hawaiian Da Rub

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a medium bowl pour milk over your bread slices and let them sit for several minutes until bread is soft.  Beat the two eggs in a small bowl with the salt and pepper.

Add the beef, sausage, chopped veggies, and garlic to the bread.  Pour the egg mixture over the top and using clean hands mush all the ingredients together.  Mushing is a very technical term.  Make sure everything is reasonably well mixed so that it will bind together.

In a baking pan form the meat mixture into a loaf shape.  In a small bowl mix the BBQ sauce, the Worscestershire, and the spice rub and brush over the top of the loaf.

Into the oven for 45 minutes!

I ate leftovers today over arugula with a mustard, olive oil, lemon juice dressing. Tasty stuff!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 8:35 pm

    Hi – looks yummy! Another fun thing we do to add veggies is to place half the meatloaf in the pan, put a layer of roasted red peppers on the ‘loaf, and top with the other half of the meatloaf. It’s really pretty when you cut it, since you see the layer of red in the middle.

    Your leftovers look great, too!

  2. Dad permalink
    April 6, 2011 10:58 pm

    I make this lamb meatloaf every month or so during the winter: http://bit.ly/8AMrDS
    It’s not always easy finding ground lamb, but it’s delicious. I substitute wheat bread. I also mix in whatever with the white beans and peppers — often mushrooms.

    • Dad permalink
      April 7, 2011 4:44 pm

      Oh, and I reduce the basalmic before brushing it on.

  3. hanna permalink
    April 6, 2011 11:43 pm

    Mmm I want meatloaf!

  4. Matt J. permalink
    April 7, 2011 2:48 am

    You had me at “coated in bacon.”

  5. Tom permalink
    April 7, 2011 4:29 pm

    This has been my goto meatloaf for the last several years. It’s the turkey meatloaf from Williams Sonoma…So damn good. Because it’s turkey, I “feel” like it’s healthier; although the bits of fresh mozzarella probably put the kibosh on that. Try it and let me know what you think.
    http://www.williams-sonoma.com/recipe/cheesy-meat-loaf.html

Leave a Reply

