Skip to content

FYI, 10k is 6.2 miles, not 7.2

April 17, 2011

Paul and I are not very smart runners.  For some reason (maybe because the last race we did was 7 miles?), we got it into our heads that we were running 7.2 miles at today’s Capitol City Classic.  Both of us got to the 6 mile marker, saw the finish line, and thought we’d missed a turnoff for the 10k somewhere.  Dumb, dumb, dumb.

I was struggling to pace myself in this race, so I’d decided I was going to go slow in the 6th mile and pick up my pace again in the last mile.  Since mile 6 ended up being the last mile of the race, my pacing didn’t work very well.  I usually finish races pretty strong, but I finished this one confused.  Very confused.

Despite the stupidity, we both did okay.  Paul placed first in his age division and I came in forth in mine (so close to placing…ughhhh!).  Paul was also 18th overall in the race (I was 85th).  Paul finished in 43:58 (7:05 miles).  I finished in 52:57 (8:32 miles).  I know they are decent times, totally on par with what we’ve been running, it’s just frustrating to know you could have finished much stronger if you were actually thinking about what you were doing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 7:48 pm

    I go by miles, girlfriend goes by KM… We fight about distances and get them wrong all the time also… I am usually correct though, I am better at converting ha ha

    cheers

Leave a Reply

