Skip to content

In Inner Sunset

April 21, 2011

My dad’s been asking if this blog is going to change names when we move to SF.  The short answer is no, because we fully intend to move back ASAP.  But I’m not entirely sure how much time I’ll have to be blogging in the next year (and I plan to do most school/nursing blogging on my midwifery blog).  Anyway, I am going to make every effort to try to continue to try and document our life here as much as possible.

So!  We signed paid a deposit on our San Francisco apartment today.  Have I mentioned before that I’ve always moved into the first place I’ve looked at any time I’ve looked for a place to live?  As of June, we are officially “In Inner Sunset**” not” In Oak Park.”  I’m am pretty much equal parts really excited about new adventures in nursing school, new friends, and living in SF again, as I am really bummed out about moving away from our very comfortable little life we’ve built here in Sacramento.  This really is my home and I already feel like I’ll be happy to move back whenever that is, but I’m trying to focus on my how much fun I had today with my new roommate and how exciting it was to be walking around UCSF feeling like I belong there (we went and poked around campus for a bit).

And now for some pictures of our place.  These were taken last week when it was a whole lot sunnier than it was today.

This photo probably shows half of our huge patio.  The apartment is three bedroom and both of the back bedrooms have doors out to the patio.  We were already planning study-brunches and wine tasting out there (whenever it happens to be sunny again, which may be pretty infrequent).

Our living room, complete with a very 90s fireplace.  But it works!  And it’s a corner lot so the living room gets tons of light.  We also have a decent sized kitchen with a dishwasher (I’ve never lived in a house with a dishwasher before so this is kind of awesome to me).  The third bedroom will be an office/guest room which instantly makes us very popular with our out of town friends I’m sure.

Our landlords live downstairs and are an adorable old Chinese couple.  The guy is retired from working (doing what I don’t know) at a rather popular social club for politico people and running a liquor store.  You have to YELL to talk to him, but he’s got old man charm going for him for sure.  His wife is very, very quiet (not 100% sure she speaks English) but gave us half-hugs when we left.  They, of course, seem to love Paul.  Paul is a schmoozer with older folks.

Now that we’ve got our new apartment squared away, it’s all about fixing our house up and getting it rented.  Sound like a whole lot more work that finding an apartment!

**This may technically be a lie.  It’s more like Central Sunset, but Inner Sunset sounds cooler.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 5:12 am

    Delightful! Congratulations on everything; I know you’ll do well with the new program.

  2. Morgan permalink
    April 21, 2011 4:21 pm

    Yay!! Eee, does this mean I don’t have to stay at my brother’s creepy mancave when I come visit? Are you bringing the chickens? And Hazel?

Leave a Reply

