Skip to content

Glimpses of the week

May 16, 2011

Despite the fact that P was sick all last week, and I seem to have caught whatever nastiness he had (since he prefers to cough and sneeze all over me rather than cover his mouth), we managed to pack a lot into our vacation at home.

First off, we finished the kitchen floor.  It took a little more work than we were expecting (mostly cutting things around the edges correctly), but they seem to be pretty durable and the kitchen floor no longer has holes in it, so that’s a plus.

It might be hard to tell in this "before" shot, but the floor is very stained and has large gashes all over in it.

5+ hours of peeling & sticking later

After hours of tile labor we headed to our friend’s farm in Galt for his birthday celebration.  Besides all the wonderful people and music, food was fantastic with home-brewed beer (made with hops they grow on the farm), pizza made by one of my favorite pizza places in their outdoor pizza oven, and desserts made by Magpie.  Magpie made a walnut bar cookie thing that I literally had dreams about that night.  Does anyone know if they have these in the cafe?

Yesterday morning P and I ran the Avenue of the Vines 1/2 marathon in Lodi.  It was raining before and after the race (given our luck with races, it wasn’t surprising to me), but it actually let up for the few hours while we were running and the weather was perfect.

I’ll post a race recap later, but I was hurting after we were done.  Despite better judgment, considering we were both sick feeling, we did go wine tasting at the Lodi Vistors Center (surprisingly nice) and a winery we’d liked at the visitor’s center tasting room (M2).

Last night we met my parents and sister in Winters at the Palms Playhouse to see Hayes Carll.  I recorded a song because he’d mentioned before he started playing that it wasn’t on any of his albums, so I’m going to post it here, but be aware this was my first attempt to record something with my iPhone and my videography skills could use some work.  Also the person in front of my had a big head.  Also the song may not be safe for listening to at work.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. dad permalink
    May 17, 2011 4:22 am

    You guys are too cool for school.

    • inoakpark permalink*
      May 17, 2011 4:24 am

      What is that in reference to?

      • dad permalink
        May 20, 2011 4:02 am

        Being cool.

    • inoakpark permalink*
      May 20, 2011 5:16 am

      Yeah, but I feel like you are actually mocking us.

Leave a Reply

