Skip to content

2011 – A review in photos

January 3, 2012
tags:

This year has been a busy one.  While 2010 was not my favorite year, 2011 had a lot going on (mostly great), and 2012 should be even better!

January

I spent January interviewing for nursing schools.  A totally crazy, stressful month, but I did get a Portland trip out of it (and got to meet up with some friends for a post-interview drink). Though honestly, after the hell that was 2010, interviews didn’t seem half bad.

February

According to my flickr account, all I did in February is garden and hike.  So hiking it is (this picture is in Folsom).

March

I found out that I got into nursing school at UCSF (and a few other places, but decided on San Francisco).  I’m still not really sure how that happened!

April

At the end of April we went on an amazing camping trip with friends to Indians (near the central coast).  It’s a beautiful area that I would love to go back to sometime soon.  Maybe next year?

May

May was totally insane.  In preparation for our move to the bay area, and renting our house, May was the month of home renovations.   Looking through pictures of my house makes me miss it a whole, whole lot.  Then I had my 28th birthday, we ran a half marathon, our friends got married, and we moved (all within a week)!  This warrants more than one picture…

June

I started my nursing program in June, but before it started my mom came to visit and we spent a week doing super touristy (surprisingly fun) things that I never did when I lived in SF after college (Fisherman’s Warf, Alcatraz, etc).

July

July was insanely busy with school, but we did manage a trip up to Redding to enjoy the summer heat (and some drinking & pool at Red Rock).

August

In August Paul and I went to Outside Lands Music Festival in San Francisco.  While I’d heard bad things about it, we couldn’t resist several of our favorite bands playing two blocks from our house (Ana Tijoux, Black Keys, Girl Talk, etc).  And I have to say, I didn’t regret going at all.  Girl Talk was probably my favorite show I’ve seen in years and years.

September

September was awesome.  I had the majority of the month off so my sister and I took off on the road trip that I talked about in my last (forever ago) post.  Paul met up with us in New Mexico at the end of our trip for some farming and, since his flight home was cancelled due to monsoons, ended up driving home with us.  Later that month we had our 3rd anniversary.

October

October was a strange month.  After a fun Hardly Strictly Bluegrass weekend with the family, I found out that I was pregnant (yes, pregnant).  After years of actually trying and lots of money & meds not working, somehow the stress of nursing school + a little bit of a summer break = baby.  Totally scary, but really awesome.  My mom, sister, and I were scheduled to do a 1/2 marathon and while I wasn’t technically suppose to be doing strenuous exercise at that point, my mom and I walked the whole damn thing.

November

The last week in November (right before I finished my quarter), we went up to my parent’s for Thanksgiving and then moved to our own place in Oakland (having a baby with roommates seemed like a bad idea).  We like to do everything all at once.  I also finished up my first trimester and decided to stop being totally paranoid that something was going to go wrong with the whole pregnancy business (so far so good).

December

I had most of December off from school so I spent it being super lazy (blaming it on my pregnancy tiredness), setting up our new house (pictures to come), and finally going to New Mexico to spend Christmas with Paul’s family. I can’t remember the last time I had a white Christmas, so my sadness about being away from my family was somewhat tempered by my excitement about the snow (tons of it!).

No promises, but I’m going to try and update more often now that the pregnancy news is public and I’d like to have parts of it documented on here!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 1:23 am

    Um, hi! Congratulations on the pregnancy! What a wild road the last few months have been for you. Thanks for stopping in to review it with us who read your blog, and make your big announcement. I am excited for you and Paul. Best wishes for a wonderful 2012!

  2. Carey permalink
    January 3, 2012 2:11 am

    Katie I am so excited for you! Congratulations! I’ve been wondering how you’ve been doing in SF and am looking forward to updates. Happy new year!

  3. January 3, 2012 2:29 am

    what a lovely recap of a crazy busy and wonderful year. and hooray for you guys! i’m so overdue in catching up with paul, and i love seeing new things in this space — makes me feel like i know a very small bit of what you two are up to. happy new year!

  4. January 3, 2012 6:19 pm

    Congrats again about the pregnancy! Your time line is incredibly close to ours with Eleanor. I found out in October, and my guess-date was June 6th. Can’t wait to follow along with the pregnancy. Paul is going to be an amazing father, and I’m sure you will relish all of the prep now that you are past the first trimester. Enjoy it, and take this time to have as many milkshakes as your heart/baby desires!

  5. January 4, 2012 6:19 pm

    I’m so happy for you Katie! I’m also so happy to see more blogs coming up now that the news is public. I want to see your new house! I want to know about your life! I want to follow your mommy blog!

  6. January 5, 2012 2:34 am

    Congratulations, Katie! I’m so glad everything is going well.

Leave a Reply

