Skip to content

Yellow ducks and green frogs

January 16, 2012

Laundry has always been one of my more tolerable chores, but I’m absolutely addicted to washing and folding tiny baby clothes.  We visited my secret, super sketchy but packed full of good stuff, thrift store today and came back with a few baby things–the yellow jacket on top (reversible and incredibly soft), and the blue and white striped onesie, for a grand total of $1.50.  The other things in the pile are from my aunt.

While we don’t have our ultrasound for a few more days, I think everyone here is operating under the assumption that this baby is 100% boy.  I told my midwife that at this point, if the ultrasound tech says it’s a girl, I’ll be in denial until the baby is actually born.  But before we find out, I’m going to take a quick moment to lament the lack of cute gender-neutral baby clothes.  Is it possible to make a piece of yellow baby clothing without a duck on it?  As much as I was annoyed at the prospect of acquiring loads of overly gendered clothing (princess attire or outfits with dump trucks all over seem to be popular), I’m really looking forward to being able to buy clothing outside of the yellow duck, green frog category.  Although obviously I’ve already decided that if it’s a girl (not a chance in hell) that she can rock blue and green stripes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Elise permalink
    January 16, 2012 7:17 am

    Grey is always a nice choice for the baby.

    http://www.bonpoint-boutique-us.com/en/look/look-n-23-newborn/?c=1&l=6&t=&s=

Leave a Reply

