Skip to content

Hatch

January 22, 2012

Sorry for the suspense folks…  I just did my first two back to back 12.5 hour shifts in my Med-Surg rotation so I literally hadn’t seen the light of day from Wednesday until this morning.

The contents of this belly (which I’m really enjoying taking pictures of now that it’s affecting my downward view)…

Are 100% boy.  We all knew it, right?  His name (or at least what we think his name will be) is a secret until we decide it isn’t, but for now he’s Hatch.  Hatch like the New Mexico chilies.  Because there’s nothing like calling your kid a name that has to do with his place of conception to embarrass him later on in life.

I have to admit that I’m a little freaked out by being a mama to a boy.  Growing up with two sisters, I always had it in my head that I’d have girls.  Boys (in my limited experience with them) grow up and never call their moms ever again.  Is it possible to raise a son who is somewhere between total mama’s boy and my dad/husband/every adult male I can think of?

I’ve already had some reassurance from friends who have sons, but if anyone wants to throw out any other success stories (or husbands who speak to their mom’s as adults), I’d love to hear them.

And on a lighter note, I bought some cute fabrics (along with some terry cloth) to make baby things like bibs and burp cloths and maybe a baby shirt I can actually force myself to follow a pattern.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Morgan permalink
    January 22, 2012 4:36 am

    Ahhhhhhhh I can’t (but totally can) believe you’re having a boy!!! Come have him in London, will you?

  2. Dad permalink
    January 22, 2012 4:42 am

    Hey, I call my mom. And though it’s true that as a general rule, male mammals tend to be the dispersers and female mammals tend to stick closer to their kin, my mom’s the one who moved away from all of us. I see her when I go to her, and not vice-versa.

    As far as cultivating attachment in boy kids for the long term, I think it’s important that the dad doesn’t start driving the boy into “I’m so out of here” mode starting when the boy is about 12 or 13. Or maybe worse, pretend like the boy doesn’t exist. I think it’s hard to come back from that for males. A dad who is involved and genuinely interested is key.

    From my distant vantage, it seems like Hank and Andy are a good model.

  3. January 22, 2012 7:07 pm

    I would say I have about an equal number of men who never call their moms, and men who totally do (none of which are momma’s boys). I can think of a few great examples of mom-loving men, so don’t worry! Boys may be a little less likely to be the “stay in touch” types, but they are also less likely to scream their heads off at you, which I did a lot as a teenage girl. There’s good and bad to both. Yay boy!

  4. Jessica M. permalink
    January 22, 2012 9:09 pm

    My brother and my mom are pretty close and always have been. He doesn’t act like a momma’s boy either. My brother is actually bummed he doesn’t live closer to her (as is my mom of course). I’m so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

