Skip to content

Gas, mom guilt, & pizza

February 7, 2012

I had an interesting evening tonight.  Shortly after arriving home from school I decided to make pizza for dinner and got to work in the kitchen prepping the dough.  A few times I thought I might, maybe, just a tiny bit smell gas, but I glanced at the stove, everything looked good, so I kept cooking. Finally, about 45 minutes into pizza prep I realized I was getting a little dizzy and took a second look at the stove.  One of our burners is broken (it doesn’t light unless the burner behind it is on), but it was turned just a tiny bit on and when I got a closer look/smell, was obviously leaking gas.  Oops.

I left the house to go to the store and pick up more pizza supplies, feeling lightheaded and spacy the whole way.  When I got home, per usual, the internet provided a wealth of paranoia worthy information, including something about going to the emergency room ASAP if you are pregnant.  Great.  In an effort to talk me down, P thought I should do nothing, but agreed that calling my midwife wouldn’t hurt anything.

She concurred that while it was probably nothing, she’d feel more comfortable if I called the advice line at Kaiser and got a second opinion.  After getting a surprisingly long lecture from the OB advice nurse that included gems like “don’t you know you are going to be a mom and should be more careful?” asked with extreme disgust, she finally got a toxic exposure doctor on the phone.  Her suggestion–breathe fresh oxygen.  Basically, I was instructed to stay out of the kitchen for the night and sit either outside or next to an open window for as long as possible.  Natural gas replaces oxygen on hemoglobin, so basically I wasn’t getting enough oxygen circulating in my body.  But apparently that isn’t an issue for baby unless you get to the point where you are actually passing out.

P and I ended up tag-teaming dinner.  I sat next to open windows doing as much prep as I could do out of the kitchen, while giving directions to P at the stove.  It was probably good for my inner control freak to have to do dinner this way.

Despite almost causing me to pass out, the pizza was pretty damn good.  One had tomato sauce, garlic powder, broccolini, red onions, lamb sausage, kalamata olives, and fresh mozzarella.  The other skipped the broccolini, but had herbs de provence and fresh rosemary.

I used The Dutch Baker’s Daughter’s dough recipe, which (true to the name of the recipe) is worth repeating.  It had a great texture, even though I used 50/50 white and whole wheat flour.

I’m editing this to add that Hatch was moving around the whole time I was being gassed and on the phone with the nurse and seems to be a-okay.  Hopefully no permanent damage done.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 6, 2012 9:20 pm

    I like pizza. Thanks for not dying on us. 😛

Leave a Reply

