Skip to content

Pregnancy Tea

February 7, 2012

I promise to post a 23 week picture sometime before tomorrow, but the rain has made the lighting difficult to work with for most of the day, so I’m struggling to take my usual self-portrait.

In it’s absence, I was inspired by today’s post on SouleMama to order a few more herbs to add to my pregnancy tea.  At the beginning of my pregnancy I was drinking a premixed pregnancy tea that included red raspberry leaf.  While RRL is generally thought to be safe throughout pregnancy, some folks (myself included) are apparently extra sensitive to it’s uterine toning ways and I’m pretty sure it was contributing to my crampiness.  Since all pregnancy teas include RLL because it’s generally great, I’ve been drinking straight nettle tea instead (mostly because I had a huge bag of it leftover from when we were trying to get pregnant).

This morning I was at a natural foods store and they had a discount on bulk oatstraw so I added that into my tea, along with a few handfuls of tried orange peel that I made last year.

And then, feeling super motivated, I ordered (from Mountain Rose Herbs): alfalfa leaf, rose petals, and lemon balm to add to the mix.  I also ordered more RRL to add in during my 3rd trimester, when cramping is less of an issue.

While I’m certain there are better ways to do this, my plan is to throw everything together in this jar in proportions that seem to make sense to me (my midwife gave me directions, but you know how I am about following recipes).  In an effort to avoid looking like I’m giving you medical advice, there are 100 places on the internet where you can figure out how to make a tea infusion and find proportions for these ingredients, but this isn’t one of them!

My jar of tea

And for those of you who want to know why I’m including what I’m including, here’s some background on each of these herbs.  Information is taken from the pregnancy tea handout used by my midwife a and information from Mountain Rose Herbs.  Please don’t take this as medial advice (I have no clue what I’m talking about yet…don’t listen to me).

Nettles
-Good for blood pressure, diabetes, digestive tract, liver
-High in iron, calcium, and magnesium

Raspberry Leaf Tea
-Uterine tonic–generally speaking it is balancing–if your uterus is too irritable it will help it relax, if it’s too relaxed it will tone it up. For some people it can cause irritation in early pregnancy so I’m avoiding it until my 3rd trimester when I want some serious toning/contraction action.
-High in calcium and magnesium

Oatstraw
-Calming
-Possibly trace minerals (???)

Alfalfa Leaf
-High in beta-carotene, vitamins C, E, and K

Rose Petals
-Supposedly anti-inflammatory, but mostly for taste!

Lemon Balm
-Sleep aid, calming, mild anti-inflammatory…also for flavor
-Should only be used in small amounts during pregnancy

Orange Peel
-Anti-inflammatory, anti-microbial, anti-bacterial
-And it tastes good!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hanna permalink
    February 7, 2012 6:07 pm

    Where do you order them from?

    • inoakpark permalink*
      February 7, 2012 6:08 pm

      Mountain Rose Herbs. They are my favorite!

Leave a Reply

