Skip to content

Sugar

February 21, 2012

I’m 30 minutes into my glucose challenge test and I’m crossing my fingers that I pass this one so I don’t have to do the 3 hour glucose tolerance test.

For those of you who haven’t had the joy of this test before, you show up at the lab, get 5 minutes to chug what tastes like a totally flat, super sweet, syrupy thick, not quite cold orange soda. And then, as your body cracks out on the pure sugar, you wait for an hour with no food or drink until you have your blood glucose levels tested. While it’s not a fasting test, I ate breakfast relatively early, sat in traffic forever getting to the lab, and then waited forever in the super busy lab so Im on a weird sugar high, but also starving.

If you don’t pass (and it has something like a 25% fail rate) I get to head back another day for a 3 hour test that you fast for before and during. I don’t know if I can make it through that…at a minimum P will have to come supervise the meltdown that I’m sure it will lead to.

I’ll let everyone know how it goes when I post my 25 week update later today!

20120221-103554.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

