Skip to content

This post is going to make you seriously dislike me

March 24, 2012

This post is going to come across as totally whiny and ungrateful and generally kind of horrible.  Just a warning.

I am totally dreading being in Hawaii the next week.  I know that sounds totally insane, but there are are variety of real and hypothetical things that are leading to this feeling including:

1) It being warmer there means I am going to be in a perpetual state of swollen puffiness.

2) In the last few weeks I’ve gone from feeling cutely pregnant to feeling enormous and gross and not that excited about being somewhere warm enough that I feel the need to wear less clothing.  I didn’t really anticipate that change when we planned the trip.  The days when it’s been warm, the accompanying swelling makes it even worse so there’s that…

3) I also have sciatica that makes it uncomfortable to be doing most anything right now (except sitting in a bathtub, only our hotel room doesn’t have one)…

4) While it’s hot there, it’s been really, really rainy this year so a number of beaches (and almost all the freshwater areas) are closed due to bacterial contamination.

5)  My interactions with people in Hawaii trying to set up things for our vacation have been almost universally negative regarding my pregnancy.  I’ve gotten a lot of shit about traveling as pregnant as I am (30-31 weeks), I’ve been told by several people I shouldn’t attempt any hiking because the rain has made all the trails slippery and unsafe for pregnant women, they won’t let you on any of the boat rides to see the Na Pali coast, etc, etc.

6) I had to cancel my prenatal massage because the B&B we’re staying in (for free, so I’m not allowed to complain too much) apparently can’t fit a massage table in our room and hasn’t approved the massage service I was going through (she’s a doula who does prenatal massage).

7) I can’t eat raw fish, I’m allergic to pineapple,  and salt = more swelling, which rules out like 90% of good Hawaiian food.  I’m going to have to eat poi  and shave ice for a week.  (Okay, so probably not, but I’m still bummed about not getting to eat fish which, as I remember it, is most of the good food in Hawaii).

I could seriously go on, but I realize that all of you are already gagging at how obnoxious I’m being and trying to figure out a way to take my plane ticket (and I swear I’d gladly let you if you could get P on board).  What I really want to do for the next week is sit in my bathtub and read books or watch crappy movies on my couch while wallowing in my enormous pregnant self.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2012 4:38 pm

    Aww Katie. This post doesn’t make me dislike you at all, I just hope you have a better time than you anticipate. Hugs.

  2. hawk3ye permalink
    March 24, 2012 5:19 pm

    No hate here! I did Hawaii when pregnant but more like 20 weeks. I am a lover of fish so I was disappointed to be around all that fresh fish and be limited to two servings/week due to mercury, and I too was restricted from the beaches by bacteria. I did find some pretty great Italian places though, and there were great opprtunities for short, slowish walks interspersed with sitting and drinking iced herbal tea or juice. What island are you visiting?

    • inoakpark permalink*
      March 24, 2012 10:24 pm

      I’ll be in Kauai.

  3. March 24, 2012 11:38 pm

    Katie: Kauai is beautiful and the people are kind and generous. You can eat lots of fresh fruit and avocado and non-fish goodness and then still rock out your bikini — a great part of pregnancy is that your belly is already big and so no one can tell the difference between a big lunch and baby. Deep breaths and gratitude and warm water at your feet (and on your belly) should make for decent times. And, if all else fails, just nap knowing you have no other responsibilities for the time-being. Lots of water + calcium + elevating your feet can help with the puffiness. And maybe the airline will take pity and upgrade you to first class? I hope the trip far exceeds your expectations!

Leave a Reply

