Skip to content

Making granola

November 19, 2010

It is very likely that someday I will be a nurse and that at some point in time I may be involved with life-saving and things of that nature.  Those who will be under my care don’t really need to know that it’s taken me about 2 years to figure out how to make granola without burning the fruit you put in it (you add the fruit afterward).

See.  Burned raisins.  Paul thought they were regular raisins and didn’t get why I was grumpily picking them out of my granola.  But no, no…they were actually golden to begin with.

As I was adding fresh, new raisins to my already cooked granola, it hit me that those of you who successfully make granola must add the fruit after the fact.  Don’t laugh at me.

my granola jar

I promise that I’m better at providing health care than I am at granola baking.  That being said, with the fresh raisins, this was actually really really delicious.  Credit goes to a new recipe at Joy the Baker.  I subbed almond butter, maple syrup (not really a substitution, but one of two options), and didn’t have pepitas.  But other than that, I followed the recipe.  Obviously I didn’t actually read the recipe part of the recipe, or I would have realized pre-baking that raisins go in last.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 2:46 am

    Yum! I want to try this. It has me craving milk for some reason.

Leave a comment